|Office of Pest Management Licensing:|
The Office of Pest Management (OPM) is the Arizona regulatory body that regulates the use,
disposal and storage of pesticides (which includes herbicides, etc.). The Environmental Protection Agency regulations, State
Statutes and Rules guide the OPM.
"Pest" means a vertebrate or invertebrate insect, bird, mammal, organism, or a weed or plant pathogen that is in an undesirable location.
"Pesticide"as defined in A.R.S. § 32-2301, includes an insecticide, fungicide, rodenticide, termiticide, fumigant, larvacide, adulticide, herbicide, avicide, or molluscicide.
Please read the information below, it contains information about each license required to provide pest management services in Arizona. It is crucial to become familiar with the Arizona Revised Statutes (LAWS) and Arizona Administrative Codes (RULES) with regard to the Office of Pest Management.
Currently, the Arizona Department of Agriculture - Office of Pest Management (OPM) does not have a reciprocation policy with regard to Licensing; therefore if you were licensed outside of Arizona you would be required to go through Arizona's OPM Licensing process.
Below is basic information with regard to OPM Licensing. More in depth information is available on the OPM website. A list of Study Materials is also available.
Step I - Applicator License Application
The LICENSED APPLICATORis an individual who is licensed by the Office of Pest Management to apply pesticides (including herbicides) pursuant to Arizona Revised Statute Title 32 Chapter 22
Applicator License Requirements - Applicator License Application, $100.00 application fee, Arizona Statement of Citizenship and Alien Status for State Public Benefits and applicable “Evidence/Proof”, Background Investigation conducted through fingerprints (please submit a Completed Fingerprint Card and a Cashier's Check or Money Order in the amount of $10.00 payable to the Arizona Department of Public Safety for Fingerprint Processing), and examinations required.
Initial Applicator License Training is available from the OPM at a cost of $10.00 (per hour).
Once you have obtained an applicator license you may move on to Step II, if you meet all of the requirements.
Step II - Qualifying Party (QP) Application
The QUALIFYING PARTYis the individual who is licensed by the Office of Pest Management to ensure the supervision and training of all employees of a business licensee in the business of structural pest management.
Qualifying Party License Requirements - an Arizona Applicator Licensein all categories applied for, Completed Qualifying Party Application, Arizona Statement of Citizenship and Alien Status for State Public Benefits and applicable “Evidence/Proof”, and $200.00 application fee, Minimum 3000 hours of verifiable experience (in the "business of pest management") in each category applied for within preceding 5 years - See A.R.S.32-2314 (C)(2) and A.A.C. R4-29-204 (C) for details, Background Investigation conducted through fingerprints (please submit a Completed Fingerprint Card and a Cashier's Check or Money Order (only) in the amount of $22.00 payable to the Arizona Department of Public Safety for Fingerprint Processing, Arizona Statement of Citizenship and Alien Status for State Public Benefits and applicable “Evidence/Proof”; Director approval for QP Licensure and a Passing Score on applicable examinations are required to be issued a license.
The "Business of Pest Management"is defined as: Engaging in, offering to engage in, advertising for, soliciting or performing pest management, including any of the following:
Step III - Activation of QP License Application (New or Existing Business)
The BUSINESS LICENSEis a license that is issued [pursuant to Arizona Revised Statute Title 32 Chapter 22] to a person/ entity that entitles that person and/or that person's/entity's employees to engage in the business of structural pest management
New Business License and Activate QP License Requirements- Complete New Business License and Activate QP License Application and $300.00 application fee for New Business License + $125.00 application fee to Activate a valid Inactive Qualifying Party License, Business License Application Supplement, proof of financial responsibility, copy of Registered Trade Name Certificate (for Business Name) or Copy of Articles of Organization (LLC Entities) or Incorporation (Corporate Entities).
New Business License Applicants – Please contact the ADA-OPM prior to registering a Trade Name or establishing Limited Liability Company or Corporation to determine if that name is available.
Existing Business License Requirements - OPM Issued Business License, Complete Activate QP License for an Existing Business License Application and $125.00 application fee, business license application supplement, updated proof of financial responsibility,
A directory of Inactive QP Licensees is available at (http://www.sb.state.az.us/InactiveQPDirectory.php). These individuals have a Qualifying Party License that is not associated with an OPM licensed business, and thus may be hired to activate their QP License for a New or Existing Business License.
All three licenses are required to conduct pest control that is not exempt from licensing in the State of Arizona. for a complete list of ALL of OPM's fees click here.
If you have any additional questions or concerns with regard to OPM licensing please feel free to contact the OPM Licensing Personnel via email at (firstname.lastname@example.org), or via telephone at 602-255-3664, in-state long distance callers may use 800-223-0618.